Like any other social media site, anyone can see your kid’s pictures if they don’t set the account to private. If the kid posts a picture at the park with friends and the account is set to public, anyone can know where your kid is, what they look like and who they are with. The danger is obvious.
On Snapchat, users are told images will be deleted within 10 seconds, never to be seen again. This will give teens a false sense of security. No matter what any site says, it’s a good idea to keep this rule of thumb in mind: once it’s on the internet, it’s forever.